Serving Proudly As The Voice Of Valley County Since 1913

Voters Favor School Levies

Hinsdale, Frazer and Glasgow Approve Levy

Absentee ballots came in early on during this school election. Four districts in Valley County held open the polls on Tuesday, May 5 and the results are in from Frazer, Opheim, Hinsdale and Glasgow.


Voters were able to voice their decision on the highly debated name of Irle Elementary School, or choose to give a more generalized name of Glasgow Elementary to the new building that will be completed by the beginning of the school year. Voters decided Irle Elementary would remain 759-441.

Three school board trustees were up for election as well with incumbents Alison Molvig and Nick Dirkes reran for their positions and newcomer Shawn Andersyn decided to take a shot at the election. Molvig (975 votes) and Dirkes (740 votes) will keep their positions, Andersyn came in with 390 votes. The elected officials will serve a three-year term.

A levy for the general fund was also approved, but it was close with votes of 655-556. The levy will raise $18,271.65. That levy will help the school generate funds for operations and maintenance in the upcoming 2015-16 school year.


The mill levy in Frazer for the elementary school passed will generate $12,902.41for the school district.

Four school trustees were on the ballot for two open trustee positions, for a two-year term. Michael Cole, Harry Beauchamp Jr., Jamie Lynn Smoker and Grant Stafne were on the ballot. Cole (33 votes) and Stafne (35 votes) ended up finding the approval of voters. Beauchamp took 24 votes and Smoker took 13 votes.


Hinsdale had one trustee position on the ballot for a two-year term. Both Ky Idler and Paul McColly were on the ballot and the voters chose Idler took the vote 95-46.

A levy request also passed 100-44 for $20,123.25.


Like Hinsdale, the only issue on the ballot was a race for school trustees. Hinsdale had two trustee positions open for a three-year term. Incumbents Mughetto Flickinger and Jeff Robertson were on the ballot with Twila Anderson. The newcomer Anderson (116 votes) and incumbent Robertson (106 votes) were voted into the slots. Flinckinger came in with 26 votes.


Reader Comments(0)