The Glasgow Courier - Serving Proudly As The Voice Of Valley County Since 1913

By Andrew McKean
For the Courier 

Glasgow Middle School Boys Win Home XC Meet

Girls Second to Poplar


September 13, 2017

Glasgow Middle School boys cross country runners swept the top four places at their home meet Sept. 8 to take first place in team rankings. The Scottie girls finished second to a strong Poplar team.

The 1.5-mile race, which was held at Sullivan Park, featured teams from around the region. On the boys' side, 35 runners from Poplar, Plentywood, Frazer and Frontier competed. Colter Barnett took his second championship of the season, running the course in 9:25 to lead by nearly a minute. Blake Lloyd, Lane Thompson, and Ted Tryan finished second, third, and fourth, respectively. The Scotties' fifth scorer, sixth-grader Eli Feezell, took 14th place.

The Scotties tallied just 24 team points, easily beating Plentywood (50 pts.) Frontier (83 pts.) and Poplar (90 pts.).

On the girls side, Iris McKean took second place behind Plentywood's Annie Kaul. McKean ran the 1.5-mile course in 10:05. Other Scottie scorers included Emily See (eighth), Stevie Hartwell (11th), Kira Beck (14th), and Haylly Turner (15th).

The Poplar girls' tallied just 29 points to take the team title, followed by Glasgow with 50 team points, Plentywood with 58 and Frazer with 157 points. Circle and Frontier did not field complete teams.

The Scottie Middle School team travels to Frazer for the annual Frazer Invitational on Thursday, Sept. 14.

Here are complete results, with times and places, for Scottie harriers at the Sullivan Park meet:


2. Iris McKean (10:04); 8. Emily See (11:33); 11. Stevie Hartwell (12:06); 14. Kira Beck (12:19); 15. Haylly Turner (12:26); 16. Eve Stone (12:27); 24. Isabelle Hood (13:27); 26. Shawna Buckles (13:35); 27. Ali Kuka (13:38); 37. Alesia Hopstad (14:33); 42. Myalya Grandchamp (15:57); 46. Emma Cook (16:12); 47. Brooklynn Hallock (16:15); 48. Mayme Collins (16:21); 57. Reannah Hopstad (18:32); 59. Haley Stanley (19:27); 60. Thea Moore (19:35); 64. Chantaya Amundson (24:09)


1. Colter Barnett (9:25); 2. Blake Lloyd (10:21); 3. Lane Thompson (10:26); 4. Ted Tryan (10:29); 14. Eli Feezell (11:43); 16. Jackson Bishop (12:01); 17. Toryn Richards (12:03); 21. Zavier Urbin (12:25); 25. Reed Larson (13:53); 27. Dean Lewis (14:02); 29. Dylan Hlad (14:39); 33. Sam Knierim (17:18)


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019