The Glasgow Courier - Serving Proudly As The Voice Of Valley County Since 1913

By Samar Fay
Courier Editor 

Glasgow School Board Winner: Amundson

Glasgow Turnout High; Most Results In For Other Districts



The three-way contest for one seat on the Glasgow School Board was settled Tuesday night. Mona Amundson was elected to a three-year term with 739 votes. Sarah Swanson had 418 votes and Rod Ost had 137.

Voting was running high for this election. Forty-three percent of the 3,084 registered voters requested absentee ballots. As of Monday, a large number of these 1,311 absentee ballots had been returned, so voter turnout was already near 30 percent. The 34 percent voter participation in 2011 was the highest percentage since 2005.

Frazer voters returned the two incumbents to the school board. Joseph Raining Bird Jr. received 75 votes and Jewel Four Star Ackerman had 56 votes. Rounding out the ballot were Milo Jackson, 43 votes, Lillie Cox, 38 votes, and Donna Jo Johnston, 32 votes.

The Frazer school levies were approved. The high school mill levy for $17,499.27 passed 97-64 and the elementary mill levy ($18,170) was 89-38.

In the Lustre elementary school district, there were two vacancies but just one candidate, Mark Murray.

Official results for Lustre's building reserve levy were not immediately available.

Nashua voters approved the $39,000 technology levy by a vote of 117-95.

Nashua’s trustee election was a foregone conclusion – the two candidates were elected to the two open seats. Incumbent Joe Laumeyer will serve with newcomer Dale Pugh. Carla Tihista did not file for re-election.

Hinsdale voters resoundingly approved the high school levy request for $18,241.12 by a vote of 69-6. The two incumbents, Christie Hillman and Chris Christensen, will continue in office.

An election was not needed in Opheim, where there was no levy request and the incumbent trustee, Ted See, was the only candidate for the seat.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023

Rendered 02/07/2023 12:50