The Glasgow Courier - Serving Proudly As The Voice Of Valley County Since 1913

By Georgie Kulczyk
The Courier 

On To State: Scottie Golfers Grab Hardware

Myrick Aces First Hole of the Day


Georgie Kulczyk / The Courier

All smiles with their winnings following the divisional golf meet in Glasgow May 7, the state-bound Scotties (l-r): Alexus Nistler, Bailee Baxter, Shanice Lagerquist, Lexie Pehlke, Heidi Moon, Ike Braaten, Oden Hallock, Cade Myrick, Kaden Fossum and Blaine Myrick.

It was a good day to be a Scottie.

After a full day of competition at the Sunnyside Golf Course on May 7, the Glasgow golfers had two teams qualify for state, seven individuals earn all-conference, and one outstanding hole-in-one.

The Class B Division 1 event was hosted by Glasgow and featured 18 teams from 10 area schools, including Cut Bank, Malta, Wolf Point, Choteau, Fairfield, Poplar, Conrad, Harlem, Shelby and Glasgow.

Georgie Kulczyk / The Courier

: During a break at the divisional golf meet in Glasgow May 7, Cade Myrick was able to stop for a photo to commemorate his hole-in-one.

Both Scottie teams snagged second place at the meet behind the Shelby Coyotes. Individually for the boys, Blaine Myrick had an outstanding day placing second overall with a score of 80, followed closely by Ike Braaten in fourth with an 82. Also finishing in the top 15 and advancing to state were Oden Hallock (91), and Cade Myrick (93).

For the girls, Heidi Moon was the top placer with a sixth-place score of 101. Lexie Pehlke placed 11th individually with a 108 score and Bailee Baxter finished 15th overall with 123.

Arguably, the highlight of the day was a statement-making hole-in-one achieved by Scottie junior Cade Myrick on hole 4. It was his first swing of the day, and when word reached the clubhouse, the squeals of assistant coach Betty Truscott punctuated the accomplishment.

Representing the Scotties at the state meet in Shepherd Tuesday, May 14, and Wednesday, May 15, will be: Moon, Pehlke, Alexus Nistler, Shanice Lagerquist, Baxter, B. Myrick, Braaten, C. Myrick, Hallock and Kaden Fossum.

All-conference honors go to Moon, Pehlke, Baxter, B. Myrick, C. Myrick, Braaten and Hallock for their top-15 finishes.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020