The Glasgow Courier - Serving Proudly As The Voice Of Valley County Since 1913

By Michelle Bigelbach
The Courier 

Local Residents Earn Distinguished Honor


August 16, 2017

Valley County residents Mary Louise (Hovendick) Helland and B.M. Bower, both of Glasgow, and Eugene Joseph “Gene” Martin were announced as inductees to the Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame & Western Heritage Center (MCHF & WHC) on Aug. 11. The inductees were chosen from a field of candidates nominated by the general public and are honored for their notable contributions to the history and culture of Montana.

The MCHF & WHC board of directors has designated 12 trustee districts across the state from which up to 20 trustees may be appointed. Nomination criteria established by the board for the Class of 2017 inductions allowed the election of up to one Living inductee and two Legacy inductees from each of the 12 districts. Valley County is part of District 1, which also includes Daniels, Phillips, Roosevelt and Sheridan County.

Within the district, Helland is an inductee for the Living Award while Bower and Martin are inductees for the Legacy award. The MCHF &WHC will honor these inductees during the annual Circle the Wagons gathering on Feb. 2-3, 2018, in Great Falls.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020