The Glasgow Courier - Serving Proudly As The Independent Voice Of Valley County Since 1913

By Georgie Kulczyk
The Courier 

Newton Motors Wins Aaron Chatten Tourney


Brenner Flaten / For The Courier

Brenner flaten / FOR THE COURIER Pictured in front of the newest addition to John Hahn Field - a top of the line scoreboard - are the winners of the Aaron Chatten Memorial Softball Tournament, Team Newton Motors. Back row (l-r): Trevor Waarvik, Dylan Hughes, Jeff Irving, Kyle Stein, Tyler Edwards, Sam Tedrow, Jeanelle Dascher, Tracy Gasper, and Casey Johnston. Front row (l-r): Arron Fjeld, Nate Doornek, Rachel McMurry, Shelby Fossum, Kaitlin Hagfeldt, and Autumn Gault

The 6th annual Aaron Chatten Memorial Softball Tournament drew nine teams to Fort Peck June 18 and 19.

A total of 16 games were played on John Hahn Field, and Team Newton Motors (Glasgow) came in clutch on Sunday to win the championship game by two runs against the Shockers from Glendive.

Newton Motors also produced both the male and the female MVPs of the tourney with Nate Doornek and Shelby Fossum taking home the honors.

Full results:

Round 1: Busted Knuckle 18, Screaming Gophers (Frazer) 11.

Round 2: Rocks Auto Mall 10, Team Classy (Sidney) 9; Shockers (Glendive) 13, ADC 6; Sukut Construction 8, Oakland Improvements (Miles City) 7; Newton Motors 9, Busted Knuckle 3.

Quarterfinals: Shockers 11, Rocks Auto Mall 5; Newton Motors 10, Sukut Construction 7.

Consolation Rounds: ADC 11, Screaming Gophers 5; Busted Knuckle 12, Oakland Improvements 4; ADC 25, Team Classy 6; Busted Knuckle 16, Rocks Auto Mall 6; ADC 15, Sukut Construction 12.

Semifinals: Newton Motors 16, Shockers 10.

4th Place Game: Busted Knuckle 11, ADC 5.

3rd Place Game: Shockers 17, Busted Knuckle 10.

Championship: Newton Motors 16, Shockers 14. 

1st Place - Newton Motors

2nd Place - Shockers (Glendive)

3rd Place - Busted Knuckle

4th Place - ADC

Male MVP - Nate Doornek (Newton Motors). 

Female MVP - Shelby Fossum (Newton Motors).

Male Home Run Derby Champion - Mike Fritz (Williston, ND.).

Female Home Run Derby Champion - Shy Skramstad (Team Classy).


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021