By Mary Kate Tihista
For The Courier 

Foundation "ParTEE" Golf Tournament


The rain stopped just in time for the 18th Annual Open Golf Tournament on June 12. The teams came out to support a great cause and great community, even with 1.5 inches of rain on the course.

Each of the 18 teams registered, had breakfast and were all ready to tee off by 9 a.m. Every hole featured a different game for everyone, with the winner taking home wonderful prizes donated by local businesses. The games were designed so that both experienced and inexperienced golfers had chances to win. The marshmallow game, sponsored by the Foundation, was an enjoyed break between holes.

The FMDH Foundation is extremely fortunate that this fundraising tournament is well sponsored by local businesses, showing their support of the Foundation’s mission. Businesses participated as major event sponsors, hole sponsors, and by providing merchandise, gift certificates, or cash for prizes. This year we had a two premier event sponsors, Hi-Line Ford and NorthWestern Energy.

Hi-Line Ford sponsored the hole-in-one prize with $500 going to a male and female who got closest on hole 4. With two guaranteed winners, the players were eager for their chance to win. Sue Peterson was the lucky lady on the Northwest Farm Credit team to take home $500 and Norm Sillerud won for the men and graciously donated the $500 to the FMDH Foundation.

This one-day event requires weeks of planning that is undertaken by Foundation board members Jon Bengochea, Pam Dance, Mikel Erickson, Shelly George, Somer Hoerster, Becky Johnson, Carrie Mesman, Stan Ozark and Tracey Waarvik. The FMDH Foundation would especially like to recognize Storm Jackson for his efforts and hard work to get golfers on the course after all the rain. The golf tournament is the Foundation’s major fundraiser, which requires staff and board members to contact businesses each year throughout our area. Once again the response received was amazing and we are very grateful.

The teams started to trickle in with an appetite, which made the barbecued pork dinner sponsored by Cornwell Ranch and prepared by Butch and Martha Tewell and Kevin Haddix that much more welcome. After dinner, the Awards Ceremony was conducted by Stan Ozark.

The FMDH Foundation appreciates everyone who participated and helped make this such a great event. See you next year!

1st Place – Erickson Farm/Thompson & Sons: Rocky Thompson, Mikel Erickson, Bart Erickson, and Mike Archambeault

2nd Place – Fast Farms: Tim Dees, Trent Holstein, Steve Bell, Steve Hansen

3rd Place – All Season Home Center/Prairie: Mike Slaats, Dan Belleau, Curt Shipman, Scott Sanders

4th Place – Cottonwood Inn: Zack Burner, Calvin Kemmis, Torey Rasmusan, Dustin Kelm

5th Place – Reynold’s Market: Keithe Thorson, Storm Jackson, Jenn Jackson, Kyle Stein

The mission of the Frances Mahon Deaconess Hospital Foundation is to provide financial support to Frances Mahon Deaconess Hospital and other medically needed projects in Valley County, ensuring that the medical services provided are of the highest quality. Coming up we will announce our local scholarship winners – which is possible with successful events like this.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 01/27/2020 11:03