Bison Release: Time To Speak Up

 


I'd like to ask you to please take time to contact the legislature.

SB284, the bill that would involve county commissioners in plans to release bison in their counties, is still languishing in the House Ag Committee, where it has been sitting for almost an entire month. The "antis" have apparently found out about it. From what I've heard, calls have been coming in from California and New York opposed to it, and some groups are using robocalls. When Jason called in in support of it, the operator assumed that he was opposed to it, and one mistakenly mis-clicked one of Mom's calls as opposed. Whenever I've called, they've been professional and conscientious, so a mistake like that tells me they've been getting a lot of calls in opposition. I feel like it's time to log in a few local and affected calls.

Remember that when bison were released on the reservations, the FWP went first to the elected representatives of the tribes and worked with them. We are just asking for fair and equal treatment.

Remember that the County Commissioners are sworn to do what is best for their counties. (Does anyone know the actual wording of the oath of office?) Who really benefits from forcing bison releases that are not in the best interests of the counties?


Remember that it is in the best interests of the bison to be released where they are wanted.

Remember that in ecology, local management is the most informed, nimble, and effective. Bureaucrats and politicians managing Eastern Montana by fiat from Helena is a recipe for environmental disaster.

To contact the House Ag committee online, you can use this webpage < http://leg.mt.gov/css/Sessions/64th/legwebmessage.asp >.  This form accepts only 1250 characters.

To call the House Ag committee, use (406) 444-4800.

The e-mails of the committee are Rep.Andrea.Olsen@mt.gov, Rep.Albert.Olszewski@mt.gov, greghertz11@gmail.com, Rep.Susan.Webber@gmail.com, christy_clark@ymail.com, Rep.Wendy.McKamey@mt.gov, harris@midrivers.com, Rep.Zac.Perry@mt.gov, Rep.Mike.Lang@mt.gov, scottstaffanson@gmail.com, Rep.Carolyn.Pease-Lopez@mt.gov, Rep.Dale.Mortensen@mt.gov, Rep.Jessica.Karjala@mt.gov, Rep.Margie.MacDonald@mt.gov, Rep.Seth.Berglee@mt.gov, Rep.Alan.Redfield@mt.gov, KathleenHD61@bresnan.net, Rep.Matthew.Monforton@mt.gov, Rep.Gordon.Pierson@mt.gov, Rep.Theresa.Manzella@mt.gov, dansalomon12@gmail.com, Rep.Willis.Curdy@mt.gov

(The subject line is the comment that my six-year-old son came up with as a reason that the committee should support this bill. I think it really sums it all up.)

I've been calling on this most days. Please join in. Take time to drop a message and encourage others to do so as well.

 

Reader Comments
(0)

 
 

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2018

Rendered 09/21/2018 00:54