The Glasgow Courier - Serving Proudly As The Voice Of Valley County Since 1913

By Bonnie Davidson
The Courier 

It's A Three-For-All In Commissioner District 1

Dahl, Tweten Join Carr In Race To Succeed Pippin


Another two names have been added to the race for Valley County Commissioner District 1. Russell Dahl filed for the seat last week, and Paul Tweten filed to run on Friday. Both are running against Dan Carr.

Commissioner Dave Pippin announced at the end of last year that he would not be running again for his position.

The county justice of the peace position has three candidates campaigning for the seat. Ronald Kulczyk, David L. McLean and Christine Gamas have all filed. This contested position in 2010 was won by Linda Hartsock with 44 percent against two other challengers. She stepped down halfway through her term. James Wixson was later appointed to finish the term.

Valley County Sheriff Glen Meier will fight to keep his position against Glasgow City policeman Joe Horn, the other candidate to file to date for the office. The two battled for the seat in 2010, and Horn lost with 35 percent of the votes.

Non-opposed candidates in this county election so far are Brenda Anderson for treasurer, Nickolas Murnion as county attorney, Lynne Nyquist as the clerk and recorder, and Leroy Kountz as the public administrator.

County commissioners also have passed a resolution calling for an election, and for conducting a local government review and establishing a study commission to do so. The resolution allows a study commission to review the government of Valley County and submit recommendations to the government.

Another resolution passed that may affect the upcoming ballot is the authorization to raise the levy 10 mills per year, generating approximately $222,930. It would begin in the upcoming fiscal year and continue through the next 10 fiscal years for construction of highways and bridges. The impact for property owners would add up to about $25 for a home valued at $100,000.

The vote to raise the levy will take place on the same day as the primary election, June 3.

You might be interested in:

Reader Comments

Rendered 11/15/2016 05:43